Problem with my esp12e

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
Mihadongle
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 17:18

Problem with my esp12e

#1 Post by Mihadongle » 03 Feb 2016, 14:26

Hallo my esp didnt function!
in the serial monitor the esp says :

Code: Select all

 ets Jan  8 2013,rst cause:4, boot mode:(3,7)

wdt reset
load 0x4010f000, len 1264, room 16 
tail 0
chksum 0x42
csum 0x42
~ld
ªU
INIT : Booting Build nr:48
WIFI : Connecting...
IP   : Static IP :192.168.1.220
INIT : I2C


 ets Jan  8 2013,rst cause:4, boot mode:(3,7)

wdt reset
load 0x4010f000, len 1264, room 16 
tail 0
chksum 0x42
csum 0x42
~ld
ªU
INIT : Booting Build nr:48
WIFI : Connecting...
IP   : Static IP :192.168.1.220
INIT : I2C
I have flash R49, R72, R73,R76
and it says the same!! after flashing it has also my configs in it Static IP :192.168.1.220! could every one help me!
i tried also a empty file and then i flash the espeasy on it but it says the same!
best regards Michael

User avatar
costo
Normal user
Posts: 500
Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 15:03
Location: NL, zw-NB

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#2 Post by costo » 03 Feb 2016, 14:56

What devices did you add and how are they configured, specially which pins ?

When you only say 'problem, my esp is not working, nobody can help you.

Mihadongle
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 17:18

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#3 Post by Mihadongle » 03 Feb 2016, 15:00

I would test the miniproextender on gpio5 and then the esp crash

User avatar
costo
Normal user
Posts: 500
Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 15:03
Location: NL, zw-NB

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#4 Post by costo » 03 Feb 2016, 15:29

Mihadongle wrote:I would test the miniproextender on gpio5 and then the esp crash
For I2C you need to configure both SDA and SCL. Mostly gpio5 & gpio4 are used for that.

Your log says after the init I2C it crashes so you should try it without I2C first.
Does it crash also without I2C configured ?

Mihadongle
Normal user
Posts: 25
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 17:18

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#5 Post by Mihadongle » 03 Feb 2016, 15:43

I dont come in the gui
The esp resets every 4 sec

User avatar
costo
Normal user
Posts: 500
Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 15:03
Location: NL, zw-NB

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#6 Post by costo » 03 Feb 2016, 16:37

That problem was solved since R68 I think.

Make sure you have nothing connected to your ESP and do not make GPIO 2 low during boot.

User avatar
costo
Normal user
Posts: 500
Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 15:03
Location: NL, zw-NB

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#7 Post by costo » 04 Feb 2016, 22:18

edit: [There must be some kind of rare and nasty bug in ESPEasy: I take this back.

Today I had been experimenting with my nodemcu board, which has a esp12e onboard.
It used to work perfect with every version of ESPEasy but I decided to flash it with a very old version R17 of ESPEasy.
Then I flashed R39 on it and somewhere somehow it started to reset every few seconds.

To my surprise the nodemcu was a sort of 'bricked'. Whichever version of ESPEasy I flashed into it , it kept resetting all the time.
No way to get it working again, even not when I flashed some other non-espeasy program in it and then ESPEasy again.
The nodeMCU board was unusable for ESPEasy.

I can understand the frustration that some users experience with ESPEasy when it keeps resetting whatever version they try to flash.

The solution was to go to http://www.electrodragon.com/w/File:Flash_tool_2.4.zip download the tool, unpack it, ( password = electrodragon ).
Then start the ESP8266 flash tool choose the right COM port, select the default /combine/target.bin file from the tool. Pushing flash and reset to force the nodeMCU in flashmode.
After flashing the at firmware onto the NodeMCU, I flashed ESPEasy again with the Arduino IDE and it was in a working condition again.
Last edited by costo on 06 Feb 2016, 00:42, edited 1 time in total.

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#8 Post by tozett » 05 Feb 2016, 07:55

costo wrote: Then I flashed R39 on it and somewhere somehow it started to reset every few seconds.
To my surprise the nodemcu was a sort of 'bricked'. Whichever version of ESPEasy I flashed into it , it kept resetting all the time.
maybe a way to far down with the firmware versions? or a suprising mixture? :shock:
i had this restarting, wich was somehow solved from R076 on (this erases somehow somethin on the esp's-flash) :? ,
but i had nothing than R020 and R048 in between experimenting.

With R076 there started an erase of the flash/SPIFF(?) to clear the chip, i guess. i ´guess` it is there to prevent somehow this bug.

it was discussed on 01 Feb 2016, shorty here, i think: http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=757

But your solution seems also clear the chip.
The solution was to go to http://www.electrodragon.com/w/File:Flash_tool_2.4.zip download the tool,
... select the default /combine/target.bin file
After flashing the at firmware onto the NodeMCU, I flashed ESPEasy again with the Arduino IDE and it was in a working condition again.
http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewtopic.p ... =766#p3809

i thought, i would not be necessary from R076 onwards (but i down know :? )

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#9 Post by tozett » 05 Feb 2016, 07:56

But topic sofar maybe now SOLVED?

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#10 Post by tozett » 05 Feb 2016, 08:05

i just discovered this

Code: Select all

/********************************************************************************************\
* If RX and TX tied together, perform emergency reset to get the system out of boot loops
\*********************************************************************************************/

void emergencyReset()
{
  // Direct Serial is allowed here, since this is only an emergency task.
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.write(0xAA);
  Serial.write(0x55);
  delay(1);
  if (Serial.available() == 2)
    if (Serial.read() == 0xAA && Serial.read() == 0x55)
    {
      Serial.println(F("System will reset in 10 seconds..."));
      delay(10000);
      ResetFactory();
    }
}
https://github.com/ESP8266nu/ESPEasy/bl ... r/Misc.ino

which maybe could also help in such situations?

User avatar
costo
Normal user
Posts: 500
Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 15:03
Location: NL, zw-NB

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#11 Post by costo » 06 Feb 2016, 01:00

[quote="tozett"]i just discovered this

Code: Select all

/********************************************************************************************\
* If RX and TX tied together, perform emergency reset to get the system out of boot loops
\*********************************************************************************************/

void emergencyReset()
{
  // Direct Serial is allowed here, since this is only an emergency task.
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.write(0xAA);
  Serial.write(0x55);
  delay(1);
  if (Serial.available() == 2)
    if (Serial.read() == 0xAA && Serial.read() == 0x55)
    {
      Serial.println(F("System will reset in 10 seconds..."));
      delay(10000);
      ResetFactory();
    }
}
I remember advising exactly this to someone 3 weeks before: http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewtopic.p ... 3083#p3083
but I had forgotten this little trick. (( It must be my age :lol: ))
I am almost sure this would have got me out of the reset loop without doing all the trouble with the electrodragon firmware.

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#12 Post by tozett » 06 Feb 2016, 08:52

maybe an EMERGENCY section in the WIKI could help
one has to collect these methods and hints to help-out from the threads in the forum to put it on one prominent place?

http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewtopic.p ... 3858#p3858

rizzo86
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 14:15

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#13 Post by rizzo86 » 07 Feb 2016, 14:35

Hello. I found where is problem.

The problem is in programmer when you use chinese clone FTDI you get this results. Then I use original FTDI with same bin file and flashing is correct.

I tested alot versions 35, 48, 66-77 and the latest from wiki 78 with included program all working.

When i use cheep ttl to usb then i got these bad results.

The same problem is if you using chinese copy ch340, ch341,...

I have this problem with chinese arduino nano which have on board cheep FTDI ic. I just change it with original and evrything is ok.

You can find on google a lot information about this clone FTDI problems.

Thanks. Best regards

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with my esp12e

#14 Post by tozett » 07 Feb 2016, 15:27

problem SOLVED

(maybe you can mark this thread as SOLVED ...) :P
(these cheap chinese usb-uart dongles brouhgt me similar problems, but worked well with my raspberry/linux)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests