Newbie here!! Can't compile ESP Easy (mega-20221224) with Arduino IDE

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

J74656
New user

Newbie here!! Can't compile ESP Easy (mega-20221224) with Arduino IDE

#1 Post by J74656 » 30 Dec 2022, 16:28

hi folks

ok I am a complete newbie to ESP Easy and relatively new to ESP programming in general but have successfully made some small IoT projects using Arduino IDE and several ESP8266 NodeMCU boards.

I came across ESP Easy which looked cool and did a web install to flash one ESP8266 NodeMCU boards (4MB memory) which worked fine with a normal build however one of my sensors - a Pimoroni Bosch BME680 was not listed in the web interface - only a BME280? I had seen references on the web that some people have got this sensor to work using their custom build so I was intrigued to see what was involved in buidling a custom version of ESP Easy using Arduino IDE.

Having had experience with programming within Arduino IDE I followed this link and followed the instructions:

https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... noIDE.html

Note: I had issues finding the folders as suggested when trying to use the portable version of Arduino and there was no library folder with the downloaded portable ZIP version of Arduino IDE so instead I went back to my proper installed version of Arduino IDE which I have used before and then extracted the contents of the \libraries folder from the latest source version of ESP Easy (mega-20221224) at this location instead:

C:\Users\nathan\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp8266\hardware\esp8266\3.0.2\libraries

This appears to be the default libraries folder for Arduino as other libraries are located here.

ok so I then extracted the contents of \src from the source version of mega-20221224 into a new project in Arduino IDE here:

C:\Users\nathan\Documents\Arduino\ESPEasy