Is this module supported?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
budman1758
Normal user
Posts: 301
Joined: 15 Apr 2017, 05:13
Location: Riverside CA USA

Is this module supported?

#1 Post by budman1758 » 04 Oct 2022, 03:29

I dug out some ESP32 modules that have been sitting around for some time to play with. Been trying to flash them and all I get are boot loops no matter which binary I try to use. Have several and getting the same results EVERY time. Here is a picture of one of them. The modules are soldered to a small board by me. They are not complete development boards.

Seems like they should work.....
Attachments
PIC001.JPG
PIC001.JPG (308.5 KiB) Viewed 3638 times
"The glass is twice as big as it needs to be".

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3417
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: Is this module supported?

#2 Post by Ath » 04 Oct 2022, 08:30

Assuming you took the right steps:
- Use the Espressif download tool
- Flash the matching ESPEasy ESP32 4M316k .factory.bin at address 0
- Checkbox DoNotChgBin is on
- Use a moderate serial speed (up to 460800 should work fine)

It should work as intended, as it's a regular WROOM-32
/Ton (PayPal.me)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is this module supported?

#3 Post by TD-er » 04 Oct 2022, 08:35

What memory size do these boards have?
Do you have a bit more info on the boards?
For example there are boards which have an ESP32 chip which is quite different depending on the silicon version. (changed from single core to dual core and increased frequency while still having the same chip name/model)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is this module supported?

#4 Post by TD-er » 04 Oct 2022, 08:41

According to Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ESP32#Pri ... uit_boards
First publicly available ESP32 module board created by Espressif.[24] FCC Part 15.247 tested (FCC ID: 2AC7Z-ESPWROOM32).[25] Based on ESP32-D0WDQ6 chip. Originally named "ESP-WROOM-32".
Should have 4MB flash.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3417
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: Is this module supported?

#5 Post by Ath » 04 Oct 2022, 08:45

Using the latest Github Actions merge build: https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEas ... 3172897716 might improve your attempts (having the latest board definitions).
/Ton (PayPal.me)

User avatar
budman1758
Normal user
Posts: 301
Joined: 15 Apr 2017, 05:13
Location: Riverside CA USA

Re: Is this module supported?

#6 Post by budman1758 » 04 Oct 2022, 20:41

TD-er wrote: 04 Oct 2022, 08:35 What memory size do these boards have?
Do you have a bit more info on the boards?
I don't remember the details on these too well. I bought them quite some time ago. It was well before ESPEasy supported them much.
I will see what I can dig up.
"The glass is twice as big as it needs to be".

User avatar
budman1758
Normal user
Posts: 301
Joined: 15 Apr 2017, 05:13
Location: Riverside CA USA

Re: Is this module supported?

#7 Post by budman1758 » 04 Oct 2022, 21:23

This is about as close as it's got to actually booting.
There is more than enough power going to the module. I get pretty much the same no matter what binary I try to use. 2 modules are doing the exact same thing. I have a couple new ones on order. I have a dozen of these tho..... :? :?

rst:0x1 (POWERON_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
flash read err, 1000
ets_main.c 371
ets Jun 8 2016 00:22:57

rst:0x10 (RTCWDT_RTC_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DIO, clock div:2
load:0x3fff0030,len:184
load:0x40078000,len:12616
load:0x40080400,len:2916
entry 0x400805c4
▒U30 : Info :

INIT : Booting version: ESP_Easy_mega_20221003_normal_ESP32_4M316k_LittleFS, (GitHub Actions) mega_499f25c (ESP32 SDK v4.4.3-149-g10ab11e815)
32 : Info :./components/esp_littlefs/src/littlefs/lfs.c:1229:error: Corrupted dir pair at {0x0, 0x1}
INIT : Free RAM:274200
33 : Info : INIT : Cold Boot - Restart Reason: CPU0: RTC Watch dog reset digital core and rtc module CPU1: for APP CPU, reseted by PRO./components/esp_littlefs/src/littlefs/lfs.c:1229:error: Corrupted dir pair at {0x0, 0x1}
CPU
34 : Info : FS : Mounting...
FS : Mount failed
42 : Error : FS : Mount failed
RESET: Resetting factory defaults... using default settings
RESET: Warm boot, reset count: 0
RESET: formatting...
RESET: formatting done...
6653 : Info : SaveToFile: free stack: 7416
8076 : Info : FILE : Saved config.dat offset: 8192 size: 820
8078 : Info : SaveToFile: free stack after: 7416
8079 : Info : SaveToFile: free stack: 7448
10113 : Info : FILE : Saved config.dat offset: 0 size: 3004
10115 : Info : SaveToFile: free stack after: 7448
10116 : Info : SaveToFile: free stack: 7256
10229 : Info : FILE : Saved security.dat offset: 0 size: 593
10230 : Info : SaveToFile: free stack after: 7256
10241 : Info : SaveToFile: free stack: 7000
10329 : Info : FILE : Saved security.dat offset: 1024 size: 6
10330 : Info : SaveToFile: free stack after: 7000
RESET: Successful, rebooting. (you might
Brownout detector was triggered

ets Jun 8 2016 00:22:57

rst:0xc (SW_CPU_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DIO, clock div:2
load:0x3fff0030,len:184
load:0x40078000,len:12616
load:0x40080400,len:2916
entry 0x400805c4
▒U32 : Info :

INIT : Booting version: ESP_Easy_mega_20221003_normal_ESP32_4M316k_LittleFS, (GitHub Actions) mega_499f25c (ESP32 SDK v4.4.3-149-g10ab11e815)
34 : Info : INIT : Free RAM:273968
35 : Info : INIT : Soft Reboot #1 Last Action before Reboot: Background Task Last systime: 0 - Restart Reason: CPU0: Software reset CPU CPU1: Software reset CPU
36 : Info : FS : Mounting...
70 : Info : FS : Mount successful, used 151552 bytes of 323584
147 : Info : CRC : SecuritySettings CRC ...OK
167 : Info : INIT : I2C
169 : Info : INIT : SPI not enabled
170 : Info : WiFi : Start network scan all channels
Brownout detector was triggered

ets Jun 8 2016 00:22:57
"The glass is twice as big as it needs to be".

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is this module supported?

#8 Post by TD-er » 04 Oct 2022, 21:51

Brownout detector was triggered
That's an indicator the voltage isn't as stable as you would expect.

Please check to see if you have somewhere slightly too thin wiring.
Maybe also add a capacitor of 220 uF on the 3V3 (and GND) and a small capacitor of somewhere between 100nF and 1uF as close as possible to the ESP itself. (also between 3V3 and GND)
The idea is to suppress very short spikes with the small cap and larger spikes with the larger cap.

User avatar
chromo23
Normal user
Posts: 821
Joined: 10 Sep 2020, 16:02
Location: germany

Re: Is this module supported?

#9 Post by chromo23 » 04 Oct 2022, 21:58

TD-er was faster (as always :D )
Additional infos can be found when you search for "Brownout detector was triggered"

User avatar
budman1758
Normal user
Posts: 301
Joined: 15 Apr 2017, 05:13
Location: Riverside CA USA

Re: Is this module supported?

#10 Post by budman1758 » 04 Oct 2022, 22:52

I will see about the power issue.
"The glass is twice as big as it needs to be".

User avatar
budman1758
Normal user
Posts: 301
Joined: 15 Apr 2017, 05:13
Location: Riverside CA USA

Re: Is this module supported?

#11 Post by budman1758 » 05 Oct 2022, 00:27

Seems I had a power issue after all. Working as it should now. :oops: :oops:

Where is the best place for feature requests these days? :D
"The glass is twice as big as it needs to be".

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3417
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: Is this module supported?

#12 Post by Ath » 05 Oct 2022, 07:36

budman1758 wrote: 05 Oct 2022, 00:27 Where is the best place for feature requests these days? :D
You can drop them here, or, even better, on the Github ESPEasy issue tracker, what you like most.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is this module supported?

#13 Post by TD-er » 05 Oct 2022, 08:29

budman1758 wrote: 05 Oct 2022, 00:27 Seems I had a power issue after all. Working as it should now. :oops: :oops:
Well that does happen all the time (even on my test setups), so no worries :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests