NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
juju
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 07 Jan 2021, 11:46
Location: France

NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#1 Post by juju » 08 Feb 2022, 21:38

Hello,

I used the following hardware components :
- Wemos D1 Mini ESP
- WS2812B 5meter Strip led : https://aliexpress.com/item/32793981314.html
- 1000uf condensator
- 470 Resistance

I connect the strip led to a dedicated power in 5V with the condensator
I connect the D7 pin to the "data" pin of the strip led.
screenshot.48.jpg
screenshot.48.jpg (45.24 KiB) Viewed 9446 times
And now it's fun when I send the command NeoPixel,1,255,255,0
A various number of leds switch on with some variable colours...
If i try the command NeoPixelAll,0 : sometimes colors change but never switch off.

I don't see error in logs :

Code: Select all

07891: HTTP: NeoPixel,1,0,0,0
107892: HTTP after parseTemplate: NeoPixel,1,0,0,0
107894: Command: NeoPixel
107894: NeoPixel,1,0,0,0
107895: Par1: 1 Par2: 0 Par3: 0 Par4: 0 Par5: 0
or

Code: Select all

544401: HTTP: NeoPixel,3,0,0,0
544402: HTTP after parseTemplate: NeoPixel,3,0,0,0
544404: Command: NeoPixel
544404: NeoPixel,3,0,0,0
544404: Par1: 3 Par2: 0 Par3: 0 Par4: 0 Par5: 0

Do you have any idea ?

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3416
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#2 Post by Ath » 08 Feb 2022, 22:49

- What version of ESPEasy do you have installed on your ESP?
- Did you try another GPIO pin?
- Is SPI disabled, on the Hardware page? (GPIO 13 is the MOSI, master out, slave in, pin for SPI)
/Ton (PayPal.me)

juju
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 07 Jan 2021, 11:46
Location: France

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#3 Post by juju » 10 Feb 2022, 07:23

I forgot to specify that I am on vacation for a few days. :roll:
I'll make the checks soon.

juju
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 07 Jan 2021, 11:46
Location: France

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#4 Post by juju » 28 Mar 2022, 22:32

Sorry for this long vacation :)

I tried with the latest build : Build: ESP_Easy_mega_20220328_normal_ESP8266_4M1M Mar 28 2022
I try on another pin without any success.
SPI is disabled.

I do have 5V on my led strip (checked with my multimeter).
I also have have a strange behavior with WLED bin.

Maybe the problem is the led strip itself, do you know how can I check this one ?
I mean without esp board.

thanks in advance.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3416
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#5 Post by Ath » 28 Mar 2022, 23:05

Do you use a level-converter from the GPIO pin to the LED strip? That's advised to be used, as some of these Neopixels strips don't like the somewhat low signal level of 3.3V when powered at 5V
/Ton (PayPal.me)


juju
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 07 Jan 2021, 11:46
Location: France

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#7 Post by juju » 30 Mar 2022, 21:55

The led strip is powered by a dedicated power supply (5V 8A)
The Wemos is powered by a 5v power also.

juju
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 07 Jan 2021, 11:46
Location: France

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#8 Post by juju » 30 Mar 2022, 21:59

Image
Attachments
20220330_215717.jpg
20220330_215717.jpg (3.62 MiB) Viewed 8063 times

User avatar
chromo23
Normal user
Posts: 821
Joined: 10 Sep 2020, 16:02
Location: germany

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#9 Post by chromo23 » 30 Mar 2022, 22:07

My suggestion:
Try it without the resistor and only use the first led for testing. If this doesn´t work reliably than try the level converter as @Ath suggested or if you don´t have one but a diode than try the solution in the link i posted

Edit: and if you want to double check if there are settings messed up or anything else firmware related i recommend to try wled (https://kno.wled.ge/)..
Last edited by chromo23 on 30 Mar 2022, 22:13, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3416
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#10 Post by Ath » 30 Mar 2022, 22:12

The signal levels on the GPIO's is 3V3, not 5V, the link @chromo23 shared explains the reason quite well, and offers a sort-of neat trick to avoid buying a level converter.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

juju
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 07 Jan 2021, 11:46
Location: France

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#11 Post by juju » 06 Apr 2022, 08:21

Hi , I tried with only 1 LED, and with a diode as you suggest without success.
I bought a new strip led. I'll update after delivery.

Thanks !

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 8643
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#12 Post by TD-er » 06 Apr 2022, 08:46

Maybe also try to make sure your GPIO pin is working well using something like a multimeter.
Try to measure the voltage on that pin compared to GND and use commands like these from the command field on the tools page of the web interface:

Code: Select all

gpio,N,1
gpio,N,0
With 'N' being the GPIO pin you try to toggle.

juju
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 07 Jan 2021, 11:46
Location: France

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#13 Post by juju » 07 Apr 2022, 20:37

I received my new led strip and it works...

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 3416
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: NeoPixel Plugin and WS2812B strip make me mad

#14 Post by Ath » 07 Apr 2022, 22:12

The joys of defective components :(

Good that it's solved now.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 26 guests