Page 1 of 1

I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 30 Aug 2021, 14:50
by Andrew Mamohin
I was reworking the sensors on one of my esp32. At some time, it stopped loading. I cannot flash with any program. Here's what she writes to the COM port:

Code: Select all

ets Jun  8 2016 00:22:57

rst:0xc (SW_CPU_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DOUT, clock div:1
load:0x3fff0018,len:4
load:0x3fff001c,len:1044
load:0x40078000,len:8896
load:0x40080400,len:5816
entry 0x400806ac
-U39 : Info   :

INIT : Booting version: mega-20210503 (ESP32 SDK v3.2.3-14-gd3e562907)
40 : Info   : INIT : Free RAM:290284
40 : InfGuru Meditation Error: Core  1 panic'ed (IllegalInstruction). Exception was unhandled.
Memory dump at 0x40144d28: ffffffff ffffffff ffffffff
Core 1 register dump:
PC      : 0x40144d2e  PS      : 0x00060230  A0      : 0x80119dfe  A1      : 0x3ffb1e90
A2      : 0x00000006  A3      : 0x000000f5  A4      : 0x3ffc3c44  A5      : 0x3ffc3c4a
A6      : 0x00000002  A7      : 0x3ffb86fc  A8      : 0x80144ce8  A9      : 0x3ffb1e70
A10     : 0x00000040  A11     : 0x00000000  A12     : 0x3ffb1eab  A13     : 0x00000000
A14     : 0x3ffb880c  A15     : 0xff000000  SAR     : 0x0000001a  EXCCAUSE: 0x00000000
EXCVADDR: 0x00000000  LBEG    : 0x4000c28c  LEND    : 0x4000c296  LCOUNT  : 0x00000000

Backtrace: 0x40144d2e:0x3ffb1e90 0x40119dfb:0x3ffb1ed0 0x40182763:0x3ffb1fb0 0x4008a1bd:0x3ffb1fd0

Rebooting...

Re: I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 30 Aug 2021, 17:06
by Ath
Are you flashing the .bin with 'factory' in the name, via serial (at address 0x0000) ? The .bin without factory is applicable for OTA update only.

Re: I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 30 Aug 2021, 17:40
by Andrew Mamohin
I have tried different files bin. The flash_download_tool program fills nothing in the field "DETECDED INFO". When trying to flash in the console, it writes endlessly "....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____....". The ESP.Easy.Flasher writes to the log:

Code: Select all

[30.08.2021 15:36:00] warning: espcomm_sync failed
[30.08.2021 15:36:00] error: espcomm_open failed
[30.08.2021 15:36:00] error: espcomm_upload_mem failed
[2021-08-30 15:36:00] STOPPED due to 2 errors! (try reset on the unit, then start a new flash attempt)

Re: I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 30 Aug 2021, 18:36
by Andrew Mamohin
A miracle, chaotic by pressing the buttons on the ESP32 and in the Flash_Download_Tool program I flashed the module! I had to configure again, I did not save the configuration ...
Why did this happen? How can you damage the firmware just soldering any sensors? Or does this module ESP dies and will stop working in the future?

Re: I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 30 Aug 2021, 20:14
by Ath
Most ESP32 boards with 2 (or more) buttons need to be brought into Flash-mode by holding down the Boot button (GPIO-0) and then pressing the EN (or reset) button, while keeping that boor button pressed for a couple more seconds. the ....____.... is the indicator for you to start that Flash-mode. Obviously you activated Flash-mode by 'accident' ;)

Don't know how you managed to wipe your ESP initially, could be ESD of some kind, and that could possibly turn out that the module will start failing in the (near) future, or it was just a fluke accident, and the module will live happily ever after, that's impossible to predict.

Re: I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 30 Aug 2021, 20:44
by Andrew Mamohin
I know about pressing these buttons, but I have flashed the modules before (I have several of them working in partnership with domoticz). But, this time I could not turn on the firmware mode for a long time.
Probably, the flash memory in this module is damaged. I just soldered the wires from the sensors that used to be on the dupont. A! I replaced the power supply with a more powerful one.

Re: I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 30 Aug 2021, 21:47
by TD-er
To which pins did you add sensors?
Some pins have special purpose and some even can really damage your board if the wrong signal level is present at boot.

Just from memory, I think that GPIO-12 on the ESP32 does determine the flash voltage.
So you reallly should not connect anything to it that may be a high level at boot or else you my fry your flash chip.

See also: https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... e-on-esp32
I guess I will add an extra warning about this flash voltage pin as soon as I have verified it is pin 12.

Re: I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 31 Aug 2021, 07:19
by Andrew Mamohin
I used pins 4, 5, 13, 14, 33, 34. I try not to use pins 6-12.

Re: I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 31 Aug 2021, 20:24
by TD-er
Hmm GPIO 13 is not even in my list.
Maybe I missed one, or is there something strange with it?

Edit:
https://randomnerdtutorials.com/esp32-p ... nce-gpios/
Nope, GPIO13 should be just fine.

Other things that may cause issues:
- Input voltage on a pin which may be too high?
- Dip in applied voltage on the board.
- High inductance or high current through some wire close to the board
- "uneven" ground level.

About that last one.
Imagine you power your sensor and the wires from the sensor (3v3 and GND) are the only means for your ESP board to be powered.
Then due to the current flowing through these wires, there will be a voltage difference and thus changing the level of your GND.
There are several variations on this thema, like a closed loop of your GND, through which you have a magnetic field. (e.g. a coil, high current wire, etc.

Re: I broke my ESP32? "InfGuru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed"

Posted: 01 Sep 2021, 18:50
by Andrew Mamohin
TD-er wrote: 31 Aug 2021, 20:24 Other things that may cause issues:
Thanks for the advice!
In this case, I do not have such cases, but I will take these tips into account for my other devices (I have a full house of ESP and arduino).
In the meantime, this ESP works well.