Page 1 of 1

What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 25 Apr 2017, 08:43
by Humanoidx
Ive switched my setup over to ESP Easy V 2.0 and it seems to be a lot slower than the old ESP easy.
Im running a few timers controlling a few relays and the page loads are unbareable.
I have 12 devices but only 6 are enabled.
A 3 second relay timer actually is taking 6 seconds.

Any suggestions on how to get this to run quicker?

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 25 Apr 2017, 17:10
by toffel969
Humanoidx wrote: 25 Apr 2017, 08:43 Ive switched my setup over to ESP Easy V 2.0 and it seems to be a lot slower than the old ESP easy.
Im running a few timers controlling a few relays and the page loads are unbareable.
I have 12 devices but only 6 are enabled.
A 3 second relay timer actually is taking 6 seconds.

Any suggestions on how to get this to run quicker?
Maybe you suffer from the same bug as Shardan and myself (in controller/webserver). Psy0rz fixed it and published a new binary. Try to flash the new bin (still dev7) and see if the problem persists

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 25 Apr 2017, 17:11
by toffel969
toffel969 wrote: 25 Apr 2017, 17:10
Humanoidx wrote: 25 Apr 2017, 08:43 Ive switched my setup over to ESP Easy V 2.0 and it seems to be a lot slower than the old ESP easy.
Im running a few timers controlling a few relays and the page loads are unbareable.
I have 12 devices but only 6 are enabled.
A 3 second relay timer actually is taking 6 seconds.

Any suggestions on how to get this to run quicker?
Maybe you suffer from the same bug as Shardan and myself (in controller/webserver). Psy0rz fixed it and published a new binary. Try to flash the new bin (dev8) and see if the problem persists

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 27 Apr 2017, 11:10
by psy0rz
What kind of messageselay are you using? (on the advanced settings page)

try setting it to 0.

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 02 May 2017, 00:31
by psy0rz
can you tell us how much available memory it says you have on the info page?

also i just commited a memory related bugfix, maybe you could try that one. a zipfile of the latest commit is always here: https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEas ... e/mega.zip

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 26 May 2017, 09:04
by harry56
I am sure you will be able to find help to your problems on here.


gclub

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 22 Aug 2017, 18:07
by Humanoidx
Hey guys I've tried this again with dev 11 and im still having issues. I'm using this to control my hydroponocs setup

Running a total of 8 timers that are used to control the on /off times of 4 relays. These timer values are saved by using 2 dummy devices, which allows me to change the on/off schedule for day and night.

In addition there are a few other temperatures and gpio that im reading. In total I'm using 12 devices.

- the thing runs ok if I set the controller to standalone only but if I set it to http domotics it freezes up.

Am I at the limits of the processing power of the esp8266 or is this a bug?

Also why does it show 35 devices on the main page if I'm only using 12?


Heres my code

Code: Select all

 on system enable#status=1 do
Timerset,1,10
Timerset,3,20
Timerset,5,30
Timerset,7,10

TaskValueSet 9,1,3
TaskValueSet 9,2,237
TaskValueSet 9,3,2
TaskValueSet 9,4,238
TaskValueSet 10,1,2
TaskValueSet 10,2,298
TaskValueSet 10,3,70
TaskValueSet 10,4,7200

endon

on system enable#status=0 do
gpio,5,1
gpio,4,1
gpio,0,1
gpio,2,1
endon

on rules#timer=1 do
if [system enable#status]=1
gpio,5,0
timerset,2,[Timer1#SprayON1]
endif
endon

on rules#timer=2 do
if [system enable#status]=1
gpio,5,1
timerset,1,[Timer1#SprayOFF1]
endif
endon

on rules#timer=3 do
if [system enable#status]=1
gpio,4,0
timerset,4,[Timer1#SprayON2]
endif
endon

on rules#timer=4 do
If [system enable#status]=1
gpio,4,1
timerset 3,[Timer1#SprayOFF2]
endif
endon

on rules#timer=5 do
if [system enable#status]=1
gpio,0,0
timerset,6,[Timer2#SprayON3]
endif
endon

on rules#timer=6 do
if [system enable#status]=1
gpio,0,1
timerset,5,[Timer2#SprayOFF3]
endif
endon

on rules#timer=7 do
if [system enable#status]=1
gpio,2,1
timerset,8,[Timer2#PumpOFF]
endif
endon

on rules#timer=8 do
if [system enable#status]=1
gpio,2,0
timerset,7,[Timer2#PumpON]
endif
endon

On Pump#Status=1 do
TaskValueSet 12,1,0 
TaskValueSet 12,2,0 
TaskValueSet 12,3,0 
TaskValueSet 12,4,[LOG#Pcount]+1 
endon

On top solenoid#status=1 do
TaskValueSet 12,1,[LOG#S1Count]+1
endon
On Middle solenoid#status=1 do
TaskValueSet 12,2,[LOG#S2Count]+1
endon
On Bottom solenoid#status=1 do
TaskValueSet 12,3,[LOG#S3Count]+1
endon

On Clock#Time=All,12:00 do 
TaskValueSet 9,1,5
TaskValueSet 9,2,595
TaskValueSet 9,3,5
TaskValueSet 9,4,595
TaskValueSet 10,1,5
TaskValueSet 10,2,595
TaskValueSet 10,3,80
TaskValueSet 10,4,14400
endon
On Clock#Time=All,20:00 do 
TaskValueSet 9,1,3
TaskValueSet 9,2,237
TaskValueSet 9,3,2
TaskValueSet 9,4,238
TaskValueSet 10,1,2
TaskValueSet 10,2,298
TaskValueSet 10,3,70
TaskValueSet 10,4,7200
endon
   
And here are my devices
Image
Image
Image

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 23 Aug 2017, 15:07
by Domosapiens
First impression:
Task 8 has no valid port (DS18B20 Id)
That causes some delay at least

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 25 Aug 2017, 05:19
by Humanoidx
Even if the device is not enabled?

Also heres the memory from the info page.
Any thoughts on the 35 devices?


Flash Size: 4096 kB
Flash Writes (since boot): 6
Sketch Size/Free: 421 kB / 600 kB
Free Mem: 26800
Devices: 35

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 25 Aug 2017, 09:45
by grovkillen
Devices is a misleading wording, it is the number of PLUGINs that are in the firmware. If you would flash the unit with some other version the number would be different.

On my 2.0.0-dev7[normal] I have 44 "devices".

Re: What are the factors that affect speed?

Posted: 25 Aug 2017, 23:45
by Domosapiens
Even if the device is not enabled?
@Humanoidx
What version are you running?
Release v2.0.0-dev11 shows "Enabled" in the GUI and looks like this
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (60.73 KiB) Viewed 17302 times