Page 12 of 12

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 18 Jul 2023, 08:35
by Smotek7
I found
/control?cmd=disp,dim=10
Pay attention to the comma.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 18 Jul 2023, 12:05
by flightman
It works, thanks again!
And no worries about the translation problem (I often use the translator too).

Two other follow-up questions:
- Is it possible to transfer the files for the screen via Espeasy (Virtual COM port or other?) without having to disassemble everything.
- How to detect and report via ESPeasy the actions on the screen (for example to activate the screen after pressing the touch zone)?

thanks in advance

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 18 Jul 2023, 19:21
by Smotek7
1. I failed to transfer via virtual COM.
It was also dealt with here in the forum.
The connection is established, but the SER2NET plugin does not transfer data.

It would be great if it worked.
This is my only fault.
It works in tasmote.

2. I send the button presses via UDP to the PLC and in turn it switches the screen via the http command.
But something like this is possible:

Code: Select all

On But2#state=1 do
Let,1,[VAR#1]+1

if [VAR#1]=1
sendToHTTP 192.168.1.129,80,/control?cmd=disp,page%202
endif

if [VAR#1]=2
Let,1,0
sendToHTTP 192.168.1.129,80,/control?cmd=disp,page%203
endif
endif
I haven't tried it

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 19 Jul 2023, 13:22
by flightman
ok thank's a lot for your answers and your help :D

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 09 Aug 2023, 22:10
by Smotek7
Again, I need to play the HMI file in NSpanel.
He doesn't want to take it apart again.
@TD-er
Do you still have it packed?
Wouldn't you like to look,
wouldn't it be possible to record the display via ESPeasy?
As I wrote above, when I try SER2NET, it connects, but the file is not transferred. Probably a problem with the buffer as you wrote.
It would be great if the file could be sent to the display.
For example, how an update is sent.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 09 Aug 2023, 22:58
by TD-er
Yep, it is still packed and right now to reach my PC, I have to perform maneuvres not unlike what people pay good money for to see at Cirque du Soleil.
I hope to have all stuff ready and unpacked in about a week as I got really frustrated by all time I lost in the past 18 months searching through boxes to find just about anything.
As you may have seen in one of the issues I posted in last week is that my mains voltage test setup is literally done on a carton box from a mover company.

So I have bought lots of drawers etc. from Ikea and am now building those.
The 3D printer is running printing all required clamps etc.


TL;DR
Not going to be noticable productive this week as I now decided to do something to fix my "I can't find anything anymore" frustrations.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Aug 2023, 00:23
by Smotek7
Thank you for the information.
I will hope that the amount of work will change and time will be found.

IKEA
I use this
https://www.ikea.com/sk/sk/p/trofast-ra ... -30171123/
https://www.ikea.com/sk/sk/p/trofast-ul ... -80089239/
but there are still few places :D


Otherwise, I watched plugin78 a long time ago.
I use SDM630 and SDM120 on the cable. (LANtoModbus).
I am currently trying other modbus sensors such as distance meter, temperature, humidity, power meter PZEM-017...
I wondered why a specialized plugin for SDMxxx is actually being made.
If a universal modbus plugin were created, it could be used for many sensors.
Addresses, number of registers and data format would be set.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Aug 2023, 00:37
by TD-er
Smotek7 wrote: 10 Aug 2023, 00:23 [...]
I wondered why a specialized plugin for SDMxxx is actually being made.
If a universal modbus plugin were created, it could be used for many sensors.
Addresses, number of registers and data format would be set.
That's exactly what Ton and I were discussing today :)

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 21 Sep 2023, 12:31
by Smotek7
A hardware solution to a software problem.
Wired SD card slot to NSpanel.
It works ok.
6399-image.png
6399-image.png (736.06 KiB) Viewed 158847 times

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 21 Sep 2023, 12:46
by flightman
Thank you for the tip.
Too bad we can't do it via http / virtual serial port, as you already tried.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 21 Sep 2023, 13:04
by Smotek7
I had to work it out.
A friend wanted a display, but it is 300 km away.
He wouldn't be able to handle it via Uart.
It can handle inserting an SD card.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 28 Sep 2023, 09:24
by Smotek7
Question build
ESP_Easy_mega_20230822_display_ESP32_4M316k
I currently have it in NSPanel, it is ESP32.
Has WIFI and IP address set.
Wifi is not available at the moment.
After a restart (tested 3 times), the AP is not created, even after a long wait.
Tested on two devices, same result.
Why is that so? I only have access to the power supply. I can't connect Uart.
Do I know how to get into the device?
Or just create wifi to connect again.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 28 Sep 2023, 09:38
by Smotek7
I did the test on the third device.
Is there a
ESP_Easy_mega_20220427_test_A_ESP32_4M316k
It works there, an AP is created in about 5 seconds.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 30 Sep 2023, 08:41
by Smotek7
@TD-er ,
Please can you confirm that in that one
ESP_Easy_mega_20230822_display_ESP32_4M316k
is there a problem with creating an AP when ESP does not find wifi?

The attempt was to create the same wifi as was in ESP, but the ESP WiFi Subnetmask was not entered:
now it's completely dead.
Can it be reset without physically connecting the uart?

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 30 Sep 2023, 09:52
by TD-er
Yep, that's still on my todo list for the build after the one I plan on making today.

You can factory reset the unit by shorting the RX to the TX pin during boot. (don't forget to remove this after or else the ESP will continuously reset the settings)
But then everything will be wiped and you have to start over.
Not sure if that's what you are willing to do?

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 30 Sep 2023, 14:07
by Smotek7
I am willing to do anything.
I set the display and sent it to a friend, it is 300 km.
I was hoping that when it arrived, it would create an AP and change its wifi.
I'm going to offer him options, I'll see which one he's up to.
I think I would do the setting via the remote desktop.

When there is a new build, I would like to test it myself.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 01 Oct 2023, 12:59
by Smotek7
@TD-er
It was a struggle but we managed it. We reset by connecting Tx Rx. They created AP wifi without problems.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 01 Oct 2023, 19:59
by TD-er
Great!
Glad you could manage it remotely.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 01 Oct 2023, 20:14
by Smotek7
My friend likes it, he wants it in every room.
I just don't want to solder the sd card into 5 pcs.
Then I have to design the PCB.
disp1.jpg
disp1.jpg (38.87 KiB) Viewed 158671 times

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 02 Oct 2023, 11:30
by Smotek7
@TD-er
Info:
today I tried to update to
ESP_Easy_mega_20230930_display_ESP32_4M316k.bin
The same problem as with the previous version.
If it doesn't find the wifi , it won't create an AP.
Then I downgraded to the old version
ESP_Easy_mega_20211224_test_A_ESP32_4M316k
It works correctly there, if it doesn't find wifi it creates an AP.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 02 Oct 2023, 15:41
by jackslayter
Hi everyone.
I have a Nextion, a esp-wroom-02 (with bat 18650 and wt32-eth01
the firmware of esp-wroom-02 is ESP_Easy_mega_20230822_collection_A_ESP8266_4M1M
the firmware of wt32-eth01 is ESP_Easy_mega_20230822_collection_A_ESP32_4M316k_ETH.factory

I connect Nextion on the same GPIO, on esp-wroom-02 all working fine, on wt32-eth01 it is not working fine.

Why is not working on wt32-eth01 ?
Thank you

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 02 Oct 2023, 15:50
by Smotek7
@jackslayter
I have WT32 and Nextion Inteligent 7".
For WT32, pay attention to the power supply.
A sufficient power source is needed.
Don't forget the PNP transistor.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 02 Oct 2023, 15:56
by Ath
jackslayter wrote: 02 Oct 2023, 15:41 Hi everyone.
I have a Nextion, a esp-wroom-02 (with bat 18650 and wt32-eth01
the firmware of esp-wroom-02 is ESP_Easy_mega_20230822_collection_A_ESP8266_4M1M
the firmware of wt32-eth01 is ESP_Easy_mega_20230822_collection_A_ESP32_4M316k_ETH.factory

I connect Nextion on the same GPIO, on esp-wroom-02 all working fine, on wt32-eth01 it is not working fine.

Why is not working on wt32-eth01 ?
Thank you
You will have to provide more detailed info before anyone can help you, we can't see your workbench from here...
Be aware that the WT32-ETH01 uses a lot of GPIO pins for the Ethernet hardware, so it's possible you have used pins that are in use already. Check the Hardware page to see which GPIOs are used for Ethernet.
On this documentation page you can see what pins should be safe to use for devices to connect to.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 02 Oct 2023, 16:06
by jackslayter
sorry , I tested ESP_Easy_mega_20230930_collection_A_ESP32_4M316k_ETH.factory and it works.
thank you

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 20 Oct 2023, 18:04
by Smotek7
HW version 2, SD card accessible from below without disassembly.
NSP-SD.jpg
NSP-SD.jpg (45.89 KiB) Viewed 158479 times

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 20 Oct 2023, 18:26
by flightman
Smotek7 wrote: 20 Oct 2023, 18:04 HW version 2, SD card accessible from below without disassembly.
NSP-SD.jpg
Very Nice job
Is it possible for you to share the PCB and schematics files ?

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 20 Oct 2023, 18:57
by Smotek7
I don't have the source files.
I can send a gerber in a message.
Please note that soldering to the connector is problematic.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 20 Oct 2023, 19:17
by flightman
OK thank you.
Do you have the référence of the display connector please?

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 20 Oct 2023, 20:20
by Smotek7
No, it is only attached to the original connector.
I think it was only drawn as pins.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 20 Oct 2023, 21:00
by flightman
Smotek7 wrote: 20 Oct 2023, 20:20 No, it is only attached to the original connector.
I think it was only drawn as pins.
OK thanks

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 17 Dec 2023, 23:07
by Smotek7
@TD-er
What is the situation with the problem of creating an AP if wifi is not available?
Did you manage to find the problem?
Is it fixed in the current build?
I keep running to 20211224.
Thank you for the info.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 17 Dec 2023, 23:22
by TD-er
It is partly working, but not yet done with.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 17 Dec 2023, 23:29
by Smotek7
TD-er wrote: 17 Dec 2023, 23:22 It is partly working, but not yet done with.
Does it work differently in the current version 20231130 than in 20230822? Better ?

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 17 Dec 2023, 23:36
by TD-er
Well more like in the IDF5.1 pull request I'm working on right now.

In the last official build there was some little improvement already, but still WiFi may behave odd in some tests I did here.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2024, 10:16
by Smotek7
How to send a command without quotation marks. "
I need to send via http to nextion
/control?cmd=disp,page5.t1.txt="TEXT"
I'm sending it from a device where I can't use quotation marks
because "/control?cmd=disp,page5.t1.txt="TEXT""
I tried %34 but it doesn't work for me.
Is there any way to send text without quotation marks?

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2024, 11:42
by TD-er
There are 3 types of quotes you can use to wrap command arguments.
- single quote '...'
- double quote "..."
- backtick `...`

If you need to use one type in your argument, you can pick any of the others to wrap your command or command argument.

Code: Select all

/control?cmd=disp,page5.t1.txt="TEXT"
then becomes:

Code: Select all

/control?cmd=disp,`page5.t1.txt="TEXT"`
Or

Code: Select all

/control?cmd=disp,'page5.t1.txt="TEXT"'
But the last one is harder to read for yourself as the " and ' next to eachother are hard to distinguish.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2024, 15:00
by Smotek7
Thank you for your response
Only I can't send any quotation marks.
And nextion expects them, exact syntax.
I solved it differently, I send the string from another output.
The solution would be if the nextion plugin could change characters.
For example, via http send $ and esp send to nextion ".
It's just a complicated adjustment.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2024, 15:09
by TD-er
You can also try to send an event and then do the "conversion" in rules.